Whistle While You Work

img_7038-e1498706276921.jpg

I really wanted to title this blog LISTEN While You Work, but it just didn’t have the same twirly Disney princess feel that I was going for. Today I want to share with you my favorite thing to do that makes cleaning my house bearable. I shared with you yesterday about my Children’s Bible Study on James and I just have to say you guys are my favorite, especially my friend Jill who was THE FIRST to order from my Etsy store. I had major swelly heart going on today, AND I sold my first copy of Gospel in the Garden VBS curriculum. Milestones. God is good to me.

In case you missed it yesterday here it is: James Bible Study — for children and families

Well tonight after such a fantastic day I wanted to share with you all some of the goodness I discovered while preparing and studying James over the last month or so.

So the title gives off a Disney princess type vibe, or at least was supposed to, but THIS princess’ days are not spent pining over Prince Charming, turns out she’s already married him and she’s living in their castle raising the children. Four of them. Girls. With TONS of clothes, which equals TONS of laundry. While I have in no way mastered the keeping of my house (it seems to be in a constant state of mess, just varying degrees), I have found that spending my cleaning time with preachers of the Word passes the time quite nicely. John Piper, Paul Washer, Voddie Baucham and Jeff Durbin have been my frequent guests lately as I spend time cooking, cleaning , or folding laundry.

Seriously though friends, I have found listening to sermons as I work to be a very beneficial practice in my spiritual life. Recently, as I was looking for sermons over specific parts of Scripture I discovered that Desiring God’s website catalogs sermons BY Scripture reference!! Needless to say, for several weeks I was listening to all they had on the book of James. There were two sermons in particular that hit me hard. I listened to them each 2-3 times in order to fully absorb their content.

I’m going to share some links with you. I encourage you to check out the sermons on James that really stood out to me, or try out the other link by entering the Scripture you are currently reading during your personal Bible time and listen to some sermons pertaining to it. I listen best while I work at home, but I know others that like to listen when they drive or while they work out. I do believe it is a beneficial practice to grow in your faith and knowledge of the Word.

Click HERE to search Desiring God’s sermons by Scripture reference.

Click HERE to listen to a convicting sermon on bridling the tongue and race relations in the church.

Click HERE to listen to a sermon regarding biblical prayer over sin and sickness.

A major theme in the book of James is that what is on the inside will show on the outside.  I have a five year old daughter that LOVES all things princess. We talk often about a princess heart, and how from it should flow: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Rude talk, disobedience, anger, or jealousy, those things (on the outside), stem from problems on the inside. How can we remedy problems on the inside? Jesus is the only One who has the power to deal with our sin problem. He’s paid for it, and has given us His Word to teach, correct, and train us in righteousness.

2 Timothy 3:15-17and you know that from childhood you have known the sacred Scriptures, which are able to give you wisdom for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and is profitable for teaching, for rebuking, for correcting, for training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.”

I challenge you ladies to be the kind of princesses, not that twirl around in cutesy dresses whistling while they work, but to be the kind that LISTEN while they work, to glorify God by seeking to love Him with all their hearts and MINDS. My prayer is that from taking in much Scripture and wisdom, our outside would reflect a true inner princess heart from which flows the fruits of the Spirit of God.

 

 

Leave a Reply

