God’s Work

fullsizeoutput_11a5

As I have shared in the past, my chief prayer in raising my kids is that they would grow to love and serve Jesus. This is not something I can do for them. I can be obedient to God’s commands and train up my children in the way they should go (Prov.22:6), but in the end it’s God who does the calling:

1 Peter 2:9 “But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.”

Knowing this (1. That I cannot save them, God has to. 2. That I’m called to train up my children in the way they should go.) my course of action in obedience to this knowledge is to:

  1. PRAY for my kids. – If God is responsible for calling sinners to the Gospel, we should be going to Him and pleading for their salvation.
  2. Preach the Gospel to my kids over and over. – The Gospel saves, and so in training my kids, I make sure they hear it over and over.

 

I have swelly mom heart today as my oldest girl is being baptized tonight. I remember clearly the night she got saved, and it is one of the most precious times I can remember in being a mom. One thing I am convinced of, when we stop striving to control everything (we can’t anyway) and simply obey, the blessing is getting to see GOD do the work. I saw intercessory prayer, a call, obedience, and salvation orchestrated beautifully as I did nothing but watch and support.

Incredible things happen when we do what we are called to do, and then wait for God.

So tonight I get to watch my girl take the next step of obedience, by being baptized. There are a tribe of people that are coming around to support her in this: my sister is here from Tacoma, WA, my parents, two of my dear friends from Iowa Falls are swinging through, and best yet, her dad, Keith, gets to baptize her. I am so excited to see her walk in submission to Jesus as her friends and family rally around her.

Please join with me in praising God for His good work in calling sinners to repentance and salvation.

If you would like more information on baptism John Piper does a good job of explaining it here: Thoughts on Baptism by John Piper

Leave a Reply

